Racing Post and SIS announce betting’s 8 frontline champions  

The Racing Post and Sports Information Services (SIS) have announced the eight winners of ‘The Betting Shop Champions Awards’. 

The one-off awards were launched by Racing Post and SIS this summer to recognise the momentous efforts of individuals working in betting’s frontline during the sector’s most challenging work period.

Betting Shop Champions were selected from 25 nominations by a judging panel which included former BHA Chief Executive Nick Rust, Tanya Stevenson, Ibas Chief Executive Richard Hayler, Jim Cremin and Helen Scott of SIS.

The judges awarded Brian Connell (Ladbrokes, Tuam), Angela Dinham (Star Sports, London), George Furmage (Ladbrokes, Stenhousemuir), Dale Harper (Paddy Power, Birmingham), Stephen Harrison (William Hill, Middlesbrough), Ruth Jones (Coral, Caernarfoan), Lynn Phelan (Coral, London) and Gordon Sinclair (Ladbrokes, Glasgow).

Racing Post Chief Executive Alan Byrne said: “We wanted to salute their efforts and highlight the resilience and determination that so many people have shown.”

The eight champions will be honoured at a virtual awards ceremony on November 17 hosted by the Racing Post’s Lee Mottershead and ITV Racing presenter Ed Chamberlin.

Actions taken by winners included ringing customers at home to check on their wellbeing and reassuring them when visiting their shops, collecting shopping, ensuring their shops were COVID compliant at all times and volunteering at a COVID centre.

SIS Chief Executive Richard Ames added: “We are very pleased to be part of these awards and wanted to recognise the efforts of those who have continued to offer outstanding service to their communities and our industry.”

Lithuania authorities issue warnings over illegal remote betting sites BGC seeks new Comms lead as Schofield returns to politics beat 

No Comments

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *