Clive Hawkswood to be inducted into Sports Betting Hall of Fame

Clive Hawkswood’s track record of representing the industry and contribution to promoting responsible gambling will be recognised when he is inducted into the Sports Betting Hall of Fame on the final day of the Betting on Sports Europe conference and exhibition. 

The Sports Betting Hall of Fame was launched by SBC in 2016 to honour the individuals who have made a lasting positive impression on the industry, and its latest members will be celebrated at a special ceremony at London’s Natural History Museum on 11 November.

Hawkswood is perhaps best known for his 15-year spell as Chief Executive of the UK’s Remote Gambling Association (RGA), where he represented the industry’s interests with a range of international regulators and governments.

During his time with the RGA he oversaw the development of industry best practice related to a wide range of regulatory and social responsibility issues.

Prior to joining the RGA at its inception, he held policy roles related to gambling issues at the UK’s Department for Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS) and Home Office. 

Hawkswood has also enjoyed a spell as Chairman of Responsible Affiliates in Gambling (RAiG), as well as time on the boards of GambleAware, GAMSTOP, the Industry Group for Responsible Gambling, the Gambling Anti-Money Laundering Group, and the International Olympic Committee’s Working Group on Irregular and Illegal Sport Betting.

He is now an Executive Adviser to Gambling Integrity and a Non-Executive Director of beBettor, both roles in which he can utilise his in-depth knowledge of the online gambling industry, player protection and the prevention of gambling-related harm.

Talking about his selection for the Sports Betting Hall of Fame, Hawkswood said: “It’s always been a great idea to recognise people’s contributions over a period of time to the sector, but I never imagined I would be one of the recipients. So, it was a nice surprise to be even considered for it. 

“That was even more so after I had reminded myself of some of the industry greats who have been inducted in previous years. I’m lucky enough to have known and worked with many of them and it’s very gratifying to join such a renowned group.”

The European Sports Betting Hall of Fame Class of 2021 also includes Ludovico Calvi (President, Global Lottery Monitoring System), Simon Bold (Founder SBGL and Former CEO bwin International), Vincent Caldwell (Founder, betinternet and Chairman & CEO, Virtual Software), Birgitte Sand (Former Director General, Danish Gambling Authority), and Jan Svendsen (Founder, Coolbet, Nordicbet and Triobet). All will be inducted at a special ceremony at the Natural History Museum on 11 November, the final day of the Betting on Sports Europe conference and exhibition, which takes place at Stamford Bridge, London.

The North American Sports Betting Hall of Fame Class of 2021 includes Yolanda Acuña (Former Director of Race & Sports Administration, MGM Resorts International), Joe Asher (President of Sports Betting, IGT), Johnny Avello (Director of Race & Sportsbook Operations, DraftKings), Joe Brennan Jr (Former Chair, IMEGA), and Jimmy Vaccaro (Legendary Las Vegas Bookmaker / Sports Marketing Director, South Point Hotel & Casino). They will be inducted at a ceremony at the MetLife Stadium on December 1, 2021, during the SBC Summit North America conference and trade show. 

About the Sports Betting Hall of Fame

SBC launched the Sports Betting Hall of Fame in 2016, in order to honour, preserve and perpetuate the names and outstanding accomplishments of personalities who have brought lasting success to the industry. 

The original inductees were Carsten Koerl (Founder & CEO, Sportradar), Mark Blandford (Founder, Sportingbet), and Howard Chisholm (Director, Bookmakers Technology Consortium). 

They have since been joined by: 

2017: Paris Smith (CEO, Pinnacle), Fred Done (Founder, Betfred), and Vigen Badalyan (Founder & CEO, BetConstruct).

2018: Norbert Teufelberger (Co-Founder, Bwin), Pontus Lindwall (CEO, Betsson), Warwick Bartlett (CEO, GBGC), Constantinos Antonopoulos (Vice-Chairman, Intralot), and Fabio Schiavolin (CEO, Snaitech). 

2019: Denise Coates (Founder & CEO, bet365), John Boyle (Founder & Chairman, BoyleSports), John Anderson (former CEO, 888 Holdings), Armin Sageder (Founder, paysafecard & BGT), Richard Flint (Non-Executive Director, Flutter Entertainment & former CEO, Sky Betting & Gaming), Jukka Honkavaara (Bettor who placed the first ever online sports bet), Art Manteris (retired VP Race and Sports Book Operations, Station Casinos), Dennis Drazin (CEO, Monmouth Park), and Chris Christie (former NJ Governor).

2020: Ralph Topping (former William Hill CEO), Victor Chandler (Founder, BetVictor), Bill Mummery (pioneer in online betting & Asian market), Giovanni Garrisi (CEO, StanleyBet), Juan B. Pérez Hidalgo (former President, Coljuegos), Victor Salerno (President, USBookmaking & US Fantasy Sports), Raymond Lesniak (former NJ State Senator), Roxy Roxborough (Legendary Las Vegas Oddsmaker), Sara Slane (former Sr. VP, American Gaming Association), and Jay Rood (SVP, Risk & Trading, Bally’s Interactive). 

Industry innovations on display at Betting on Sports Europe ASX eyes placed on Racing and Sports PTY $69m  listing

No Comments

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *